Kantai Collection: A review

This is the random board. Want to talk about your favourite TV show, or your dog, or what you had for breakfast, or that book you're always threatening to write but never actually get around to doing so because reasons and life is more complicated than people expect, then do it here.

Moderator: cxl

cxl
Administrator Emeritus
Administrator Emeritus

Kantai Collection: A review

Postby cxl » Sun Dec 06, 2015 11:18 am

‘ello, folks.

I’m cxl, and today I will be telling you (at (great) length) why Kantai Collection is a bad game.

Since this is going to be a rant, and since I probably could get away with typing “Fuck Kadokawa” several hundred times, but mostly since I love making my own life difficult and unpleasant (I work in IT and run EoP, after all), I’m going to preface this with two disclaimers.

The first is to head off any would-be burblings from the peanut gallery that “yeah kancolle sucks cuz boats is dumb lol” - My issue is solely with Kantai Collection as a videogame (a bad videogame). I actually rather like the concept behind it, namely, the personification of world war 2 era warships, and I think the character designs are, if perhaps a little on the fanservice-y side, generally interesting. As anything but a videogame, I think it’s successful. Even the anime, which was far too much of faffing around and not nearly enough fighting for something that aims to be based, even distantly and weirdly, around a global conflict, I thought was good, and don’t regret the time that was spent watching it.

The second is that this rant will be undertaken with full understanding of what kantai collection is meant to accomplish as a product - which is to convince people to spend money on ephemeral virtual goods, and also to serve as a marketing tool for a larger line of figures, manga, anime, etc.

So with that out of the way, let me get stuck in and, as usual, angry.